

Legislation Text

File #: [22-0386], Version: 1

Appointments to the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board.

Staff:

Department:

Communications and Public Affairs

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Brenton Hodge, Assistant Town Clerk



Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board for five seats.

Attachments:

- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

- FROM: Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board
- SUBJECT: Recommendation for vacancies
- DATE: April 14, 2022

RECOMMENDATION: The Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board met on Thursday, April 14, 2022 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Lucy Vanderkamp, Reappointment, Greenways Advocate
- Judy Gaitens-arneson, Appointment, Town Resident
- Anthoney Henage, Appointment, Town Resident
- Stefan Klakovich, Appointment, Stormwater Advocate

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): None.

BACKGROUND: The Board's recommendations included the following details and reasoning about each candidate:

- Lucy Vanderkamp Demonstrated commitment to the goals of the ESAB over last 1.5 years, a valued member, and we would appreciate her continued input.
- Judy Gaitens-arneson Long-term Chapel Hill resident, former business owner in the area, and brings a valuable resident perspective to this work.
- Anthony Henage Life-long Chapel Hill resident who brings a valuable perspective to this work.
- Stefan Klakovich Broad base of experience with stormwater and environmental issues, and his experience as a teacher will allow him to advocate for younger community members as well.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board reviewed the following applications: Christine Berndt, Judy Gaitens-arneson, Anthony Henage, Lindsay Kellam, Stefan Klakovich, and Lucy Vanderkamp. One additional application has been received between April 14, 2022 and April 27, 2022 for the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board: Shane Brogan.