

## TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514

# Legislation Text

File #: [21-0603], Version: 1

### **Appointments to the Justice in Action Committee.**

Staff: Department:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Alisha Cordell, Administrative Assistant Communications and Public Affairs

Technology Solutions and CaPA



### Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Justice in Action Committee for four (4) seats.



### **Attachments:**

- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

Note: Applications submitted prior to February 20, 2018 were completed before changes were made to the application and may appear incomplete.

File #: [21-0603], Version: 1

#### **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Justice in Action Committee Chair

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s)

DATE: June 3, 2021

**RECOMMENDATION**: The Justice in Action Committee met on Thursday, June 3, 2021 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Ruby Garcia, Reappointment, Chapel Hill or Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction
- Nul Oh, Reappointment, Chapel Hill or Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction
- Tiki Windley, Appointment, Chapel Hill or Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction
- Ryan Phillips, Appointment, Outside of Chapel Hill or Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction

#### **SPECIAL REQUEST(s)**: No comment.

**BACKGROUND**: Tiki Windley-CH/Carrboro Planning District: JIAC recommends her to council as her work within the community aligns with the vision of JIAC. Ryan Philips-Outside CH/Carrboro Planning District: JIAC recommends him to council as his volunteer experience and participation in peoples academy will bring additional insight to JIAC.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Justice in Action Committee reviewed the following applications: Paloma Baca, Mary Breeden, Stephanie Caravedo, Erin Carter, Pearson Cost, Tara Cotton, Donna Dodson, Ruby Garcia, Sarah Goldstein, Megan Ivankovich, Emmy Johnson, Sherry Lindquist, Alix McKay, Tristan Millsaps, Nul Oh, Julia Perrotta, Ryan Phillips, Jenny Schwade, Morgan Sennhauser, Hallie Springer, Denise Thompson, Gary West, Kristine Williams, and Tiki Windley. No additional applications have been received between June 3, 2021 and June 116, 2021 for the Justice in Action Committee.