

Legislation Text

File #: [20-0816], Version: 1

Appointments to the Justice in Action Committee.

Staff:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Alisha Cordell, Administrative Assistant **Department:** Communications and Public Affairs

Technology Solutions and CaPA



Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Justice in Action Committee for six seats.

Attachments:

- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

Note: Applications submitted prior to February 20, 2018 were completed before changes were made to the application and may appear incomplete.

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Celisa Lehew, Staff Liaison JIAC

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s)

DATE: November 6, 2020

RECOMMENDATION: The Justice in Action Committee met and made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Flake, Elizabeth (Incumbent) Outside of Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, full term expires 06/30/2023
- Cheek, Sarah (see below Special Request) Outside of Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, partial term expire 06/30/2021
- Baldwin, Shiala Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, full term expires 06/30/2023
- Al-Akhdar, Aida Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, full term expires 06/30/2023
- Miller, Tracy Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, full term expires 06/30/2023
- Oh, Nul Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction, partial term expires 06/30/2021
- ALTERNATIVE-Goldstein, Sarah Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction
- ALTERNATIVE-Dodson, Donna Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): Moving Sarah Cheek from Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction to Outside Chapel Hill Carrboro Planning Jurisdiction.

BACKGROUND: Applicants selected based upon diversity for panel and expertise/experience in social justice issues.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Justice in Action Committee reviewed the following applications: Aida Al-akhdar, Shiala Baldwin, Annie Brayboy, Stephanie Caravedo, Sarah Cheek, Tara Cotton, Donna Dodson, Elisabeth Flake, Sarah Goldstein, Megan Ivankovich, Emmy Johnson, Sherry Lindquist, Tracy Miller, Nul L Oh, Jenny Schade, and Kristine Williams. No additional applications have been received between November 6 and November 11, 2020 for the Justice in Action Committee.