

TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Legislation Text

File #: [20-0685], Version: 1

Appointments to the Reimagining Community Safety Task Force.

Staff: Department:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Alisha Cordell, Administrative Assistant Communications and Public Affairs

Technology Solutions and CaPA



That the Council make appointments to the Reimagining Community Safety Task Force https://chapelhill.legistar.com/View.ashx?M=F&ID=8805929&GUID=6E2A5B19-8BE7-4347-9779-C10446D46CED for 13 seats and two alternates.



- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force

(Council Members Jess Anderson, Hongbin Gu, Tai Huynh)

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s)

DATE: October 1, 2020

RECOMMENDATION: The Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force met on Thursday, October 1, 2020 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Delores Bailey
- Robert Campbell
- Jamesha Cannon-Phillips
- Marcus Farrow
- Emma Ferriola-Bruckenstein
- Desmond Frierson
- Paris Miller
- Heather Nash
- Eliazar Posada
- Ehmu Ra
- Jeremy Roberson
- Matthew Sullivan
- Shugong Wang
- Jaclyn E Gilstrap, Alternate
- Malcolm Hunter, Alternate

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): No Comment

BACKGROUND: The Committee aimed to reflect the diversity in community representation, including age, race, emphasis with lived experience, criminal justice involvement and to reflect the diversity explicitly outlined in the resolution. The Committee sought a good mix of people with different perspectives who were knowledgeable and had first-hand experiences, would work well together, and could reach out into these communities.

The Committee realizes that men are slightly overrepresented in the recommendation. However, this seems aligned given statistics around justice involvement.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force reviewed the following applications: Delores Bailey, Shiala C Baldwin, Tiffany Bullard, Robert C Campbell, Jamesha Cannon-Phillips, Krista Caraway, Michael A Conroy, Robert M Dowling, Marcus Farrow, Emma Ferriola-Bruckenstein, Susan Friedman, Desmond A Frierson,

File #: [20-0685], Version: 1

Jaclyn E Gilstrap, Scott A Hess, Gabrielle Hodgins, Joel D Hornstein, Malcom Hunter, Paris T. Miller, Heather d Hash, Eliazar A. Posada, Ehmu Ra, Lamar G Richards, Louie Rivers, Jeremy L Roberson, Joshua B Romero, Matthew J Sullivan, William Talley, Rachel A Valentine, Shugong Wang.