

TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: [23-0417] Version: 1 Name:

Type: Appointment Status: Filed

 File created:
 5/1/2023
 In control:
 Town Council

 On agenda:
 5/10/2023
 Final action:
 5/10/2023

Title: Appointments to the Planning Commission.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Ballot, 2. Applications, 3. Master Ballot

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/10/2023	1	Town Council	appointed	

Appointments to the Planning Commission.

Staff: Department:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Brenton Hodge, Assistant Town Clerk Communications and Public Affairs



Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Planning Commission for four seats.



Attachments:

- Council Interview Committee Recommendation
- Board Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

File #: [23-0417], Version: 1

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Council Committee: Planning Commission Interviews

(Council Members Anderson, Berry & Stegman

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s) and upcoming vacancy(s)

DATE: April 28, 2023

RECOMMENDATION: The Council Committee: Planning Commission interviews met on Friday, April 28, 2023 at 2 PM and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Jonathan Mitchell, Reappointment, Town Resident
- Elizabeth Losos, Reappointment, Community Design Commission Champion
- Geoffrey Green, Appointment, Transportation and Connectivity Advisory Board Champion
- E. Strother Murray-ndinga, Appointment, Town Resident

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): None

BACKGROUND: The Council Committee Interviewed Pamela Cooper, Ken Faulkner, Geoffrey Green, Cecelia Greenebarr, Ashok Lamichhane, Elizabeth Losos, Jonathan Mitchell, E. Strother Murray-ndinga, and Aaron Shah. Kent Earnhardt, Emanuel Kearney, and Gabriel Scott confirmed their interest in the Commission but were unable to attend the interview committee meeting.

The Committee Recommends Jonathan Mitchell, Elizabeth Losos, Geoffrey Green, and E. Strother Murrayndinga by unanimous vote. Council members would like to see incumbents Jonathan Mitchell and Elizabeth Losos continue to do a great job. Geoffrey Green's expertise and background will help with the LUMO rewrite. E. Strother Murray-ndinga has overall good experience, a former diplomat so good at working with others, and understands and supports town vision/complete community objectives.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Council Committee: Planning Commission Interviews reviewed the following applications: Pamela Cooper, Kent Earnhardt, Ken Faulkner, Geoffrey Green, Cecelia Greenbarr, Emanuel Kearney, Ashok Lamichane, Elizabeth Losos, Jonathan Mitchell, E. Strother Murray-ndinga, Gabriel Scott, and Aaron Shah. No additional applications were received.

File #: [23-0417], Version: 1

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Jon Michell, Chair

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s)

DATE: April 18, 2023

RECOMMENDATION: The Planning Commission met on Tuesday, April 18, 2023 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

The current board would be happy to serve with any of the applicants.

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): No Comment

BACKGROUND:

Geoffrey Green: Is knowledgeable in planning and code writing. Has professional planning expertise and education. Could be valuable for the LUMO rewrite.

Cecelia Greenebarr: Clearly has a deep tie to community. An interest in serving the community. Has gone above and beyond.

Ashok Lamichhane: Provides insight from an immigrant community in the Town. Could reflect first generation residents. Background could reflect challenges to newcomer to Town. May be less familiar with Chapel Hill.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Planning Commission reviewed the following applications: Pamela Cooper, Kent Earnhardt, Ken Faulkner, Geoffrey Green, Cecelia Greenebarr, Emanual Kearney, Ashok Lamichhane, Elizabeth Losos (incumbent) Jonathan Mitchell (incumbent), E Strother Murray-ndinga, Gabriel Scott, and Aaron Shah. No additional applications were received between April 18, 2023 and May 3, 2023 for the Planning Commission.