

TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	[22-0558]	Version: 1	Name:		
Туре:	Appointment		Status:	Filed	
File created:	6/7/2022		In control:	Town Council	
On agenda:	6/15/2022		Final action:	6/15/2022	
Title:	Appointments to the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board.				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. Ballot, 2. Applications, 3. ESAB Master Ballot				
Date	Ver. Action By		Actio	on	Result
6/15/2022	1 Town Co	uncil	appo	pinted	

Appointments to the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board.

Staff:

Department:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Brenton Hodge, Assistant Town Clerk Communications and Public Affairs

$\sum_{i=1}^{n}$

Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board for three seats.

N

Attachments:

- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

- FROM: Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board
- SUBJECT: Recommendation for vacancies
- DATE: April 14, 2022

RECOMMENDATION: The Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board met on Thursday, April 14, 2022 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Judy Gaitens-arneson, Appointment, Town Resident
- Anthoney Henage, Appointment, Town Resident

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): None.

BACKGROUND: The Board's recommendations included the following details and reasoning about each candidate:

- Judy Gaitens-arneson Long-term Chapel Hill resident, former business owner in the area, and brings a valuable resident perspective to this work.
- Anthony Henage Life-long Chapel Hill resident who brings a valuable perspective to this work.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board reviewed the following applications: Christine Berndt, Judy Gaitens-arneson, Anthony Henage, Lindsay Kellam, Stefan Klakovich, and Lucy Vanderkamp. Two additional applications have been received between April 14, 2022 and June 8, 2022 for the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board: Shane Brogan and Michelle Stewart. On May 4, the Council appointed Stefan Klakovich, and Lucy Vanderkamp to terms beginning on July 1.

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

- FROM: Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board
- SUBJECT: Recommendation for Vacancy
- DATE: May 10, 2022

RECOMMENDATION: The Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board met on Tuesday, May 10, 2022 and by a 5-2 vote made the following conditional recommendation to the Town Council for consideration:

That the Council appoint Julie McClintock to the Regional Collaboration seat, pending a determination of eligibility by the Town Clerk; and should the Clerk determine that Ms. McClintock is not eligible to serve, the board wholeheartedly endorses Michelle Stewart (see note below).

Aye: Tom Henkel, Julie McClintock, Marirosa Molina, Noel Myers, Noah Upchurch

Nay: Maripat Metcalf (Chair), Bruce Sinclair

Reasoning: With an interest in seeing Michelle Stewart be appointed, Maripat Metcalf expressed interest in Ms. Stewart's public health experience as it relates to the work of the board, and Bruce Sinclair expressed interest in maintaining a Carrboro perspective on the board, including the possibility for crosspollination with the Carrboro Environmental Advisory Board.

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): None.

BACKGROUND: The Board's recommendations included the following details and reasoning about each candidate:

- Julie McClintock Previous performance with board is substantial.
- Michelle Stewart Clearly expressed an interest in environmental stewardship issues and has a breadth of experience in public health. Would like to see continued cross-pollination with Carrboro Environmental Board similar to Bruce Sinclair.

Communications and Public Affairs Notes: Ms. McClintock is not eligible to serve in another seat on the Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board until July 1, 2023. Advisory Board members can serve no more than two consecutive terms on the same board without a one-year gap. The Council created the stormwater advocate seat with its first term to end on June 30, 2021, and Ms. McClintock served that term. Ms. McClintock is leaving her current seat after serving for one year in her second term. The act of rejoining the board in a new seat with a three-year term would exceed the term limits for service to the same board by one year.