

TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	[20-0685]	Version: 1	Name:		
Туре:	Appointment		Status:	Filed	
File created:	9/24/2020		In control:	Town Council	
On agenda:	10/7/2020		Final action:	10/7/2020	
Title:	Appointments to the Reimagining Community Safety Task Force.				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. Ballot, 2. Applications, 3. RCSTF Master Ballot				
Date	Ver. Action By	1	Actic	n	Result

Appointments to the Reimagining Community Safety Task Force.

Staff:	Department:			
Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk	Communications and Public Affairs			
Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk				
Alisha Cordell, Administrative Assistant	Technology Solutions and CaPA			

$\sum_{i=1}^{n}$

Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the <u>Reimagining Community Safety Task Force</u> <<u>https://chapelhill.legistar.com/View.ashx?M=F&ID=8805929&GUID=6E2A5B19-8BE7-4347-9779-C10446D46CED></u> for 13 seats and two alternates.

Attachments:

- Recommendation
- Ballot
- Applications

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

- FROM: Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force (Council Members Jess Anderson, Hongbin Gu, Tai Huynh)
- SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancy(s)
- DATE: October 1, 2020

RECOMMENDATION: The Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force met on Thursday, October 1, 2020 and by a unanimous vote made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Delores Bailey
- Robert Campbell
- Jamesha Cannon-Phillips
- Marcus Farrow
- Emma Ferriola-Bruckenstein
- Desmond Frierson
- Paris Miller
- Heather Nash
- Eliazar Posada
- Ehmu Ra
- Jeremy Roberson
- Matthew Sullivan
- Shugong Wang
- Jaclyn E Gilstrap, Alternate
- Malcolm Hunter, Alternate

SPECIAL REQUEST(s): No Comment

BACKGROUND: The Committee aimed to reflect the diversity in community representation, including age, race, emphasis with lived experience, criminal justice involvement and to reflect the diversity explicitly outlined in the resolution. The Committee sought a good mix of people with different perspectives who were knowledgeable and had first-hand experiences, would work well together, and

could reach out into these communities.

The Committee realizes that men are slightly overrepresented in the recommendation. However, this seems aligned given statistics around justice involvement.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Council Committee: Recommendations for Reimagining Community Safety Task Force reviewed the following applications: Delores Bailey, Shiala C Baldwin, Tiffany Bullard, Robert C Campbell, Jamesha Cannon-Phillips, Krista Caraway, Michael A Conroy, Robert M Dowling, Marcus Farrow, Emma Ferriola-Bruckenstein, Susan Friedman, Desmond A Frierson, Jaclyn E Gilstrap, Scott A Hess, Gabrielle Hodgins, Joel D Hornstein, Malcom Hunter, Paris T. Miller, Heather d Hash, Eliazar A. Posada, Ehmu Ra, Lamar G Richards, Louie Rivers, Jeremy L Roberson, Joshua B Romero, Matthew J Sullivan, William Talley, Rachel A Valentine, Shugong Wang.