

TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: [19-0560] Version: 1 Name:

Type: Appointment Status: Agenda Ready
File created: 5/16/2019 In control: Town Council

On agenda: 6/12/2019 Final action:

Title: Appointments to the Historic District Commission.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. May 16 2019 Recommendations From Chair, 2. September 25, 2018 Memorandum to Mayor and

Council, 3. Ballot, 4. Applications, 5. Council Questions with Staff Response, 6. Emails from the

Public, 7. Master Ballot - Historic District Commission

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

Appointments to the Historic District Commission.

Staff: Department:

Sabrina Oliver, Director/Town Clerk Amy Harvey, Deputy Town Clerk Alisha Cordell, Administrative Assistant Communications and Public Affairs

Technology Solutions and CaPA



Recommendation(s):

That the Council make appointments to the Historic District Commission for five seats.

Council Goals:

\boxtimes	Create a Place for Everyone	\ //	Develop Good Places, New Spaces
\boxtimes	Support Community Prosperity		Nurture Our Community
	Facilitate Getting Around	100	Grow Town and Gown Collaboration



Attachments:

- Advisory Board Recommendations
- Ballot
- Applications

Note: Applications submitted prior to February 20, 2018 were completed before changes were made to the application and may appear incomplete.

File #: [19-0560], Version: 1

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mayor and Town Council

FROM: Robert Epting, Historic District Commission Chair

SUBJECT: Recommendation for the vacancies

DATE: May 16, 2019

RECOMMENDATION: The Historic District Commission met on May 14, 2019 and by a unanimous vote have made the following recommendation(s) to the Town Council for consideration:

- Diane Kunz, Appointment, Town Resident and ETJ Member
- Kimberly Kyser, Reappointment, Town Resident and ETJ Member
- Nancy Mccormick, Appointment, Town Resident and ETJ Member
- Angela Stiefbold, Appointment, Town Resident and ETJ Member
- John Sweet, Appointment, Town Resident and ETJ Member

SPECIAL REQUEST(S): None.

BACKGROUND: James White resigned from the Historic District Commission. Incumbents Susan Smith and Woodrow Burns are not applying for reappointment. This leaves the Historic District Commission with three upcoming vacancies and two current vacancies. Please see attached memorandums dated May 16, 2019 and September 25, 2018 specific to the qualifications of these applicants. Diane Kunz's application was previously withdrawn, but later Diane Kunz reconsidered and decided to move forward as an applicant.

Note: Communications and Public Affairs notes that the Historic District Commission reviewed the

File #: [19-0560], Version: 1

following applications: Jill Fegley (application withdrawn), Diane Kunz, Kimberly Kyser, Nancy Mccormick, Angela Stiefbold, and John Sweet. No additional applications have been received between May 16, 2019 and June 3, 2019 for the Historic District Commission.