

# TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL

Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514

# Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board Meeting Minutes

Chair Mary Metcalf Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker Ella Feathers Judy Gaitens-Arneson Anthony Henage E. Thomas Henkel Stefan Klakovich Marirosa Molina Michelle Stewart Lucy T Vanderkamp

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

7:00 PM

**Virtual Meeting** 

## **Language Access Statement**

For interpretation or translation services, call 919-969-5105.

ဘာသာပြန်ဆိုခြင်းနှင့် စကားပြန်ခြင်းအတွက်၊ (၉၁၉) ၉၆၉-၅၁ဝ၅ ကိုဖုန်းခေါ်ပါ။

如需口头或 书面翻译服 务,请拨打 919-969-5105.

Para servicios de interpretación o traducción, llame al 919-969-5105.

လၢတၢ်ကတိၤကျိုးထံ မ့တမၢ် လၢတၢ်ကွဲးကျိုးထံအတၢ်မၤစာၤအဂ်ီ ၢ် ကိုးဘ၃် (၉၁၉)-၉၆၉-၅၁ဝ၅

## 2 Opening

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 PM.

#### 3 Welcome to New Board Members

The Chair welcomed the new board members: Judy Gaitens-Arneson, Stefan Klakovich and Anthony Henage.

#### 4 Roll Call

Others in attendance: Michael Parker (Council Liaison), Eric Chupp, Joe Kovens, Cameron Rice (Stanat's Place application team), John Richardson (Staff Liaison)

**Present** 7 - Chair Mary Metcalf, Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Judy

Gaitens-Arneson, Anthony Henage, Stefan Klakovich,

Marirosa Molina, and Lucy Vanderkamp

**Excused** 2 - Ella Feathers, and Michelle Stewart

**Absent** 1 - E. Thomas Henkel

### 5 Approval of Agenda

A motion was made by Member Henage, seconded by Member Gaitens-Arneson, that the agenda be approved as written. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

7 - Chair Mary Metcalf, Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Judy Gaitens-Arneson, Anthony Henage, Stefan Klakovich, Marirosa Molina, and Lucy Vanderkamp

**Excused:** 2 - Ella Feathers, and Michelle Stewart

#### 6 Announcements

The Staff Liaison shared that members Henkel and Gaitens-Arneson volunteered to represent the ESAB at the upcoming Shaping Our Future meeting on August 30that from 8:30-10 AM.

#### 7 New Officers Needed

The Chair reminded everyone that there will be an election for new officers in September. Both the Chair and Vice-Chair are coming off of two-year rotations where they each served as Chair and Vice-Chair. The Chair encouraged members (new and returning) to consider these important roles so that the board can elect new officers at the September meeting.

#### 8 Petitions

None

## 9 Approval of Minutes

## a) Draft Action Minutes

[22-0588]

A motion was made by Member Molina, seconded by Vice-Chair Tucker, that the draft action minutes for June 14, 2022 be approved as written. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

7 - Chair Mary Metcalf, Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Judy Gaitens-Arneson, Anthony Henage, Stefan Klakovich, Marirosa Molina, and Lucy Vanderkamp

**Excused:** 2 - Ella Feathers, and Michelle Stewart

## 10 Updates from Chair

No additional updates.

## 11 Updates from Planning Commission Champion

None.

## 12 Updates from Booker Creek Working Group

None.

## 13 Update from UNC Student Representative

None.

#### 14 Old Business

a) None

#### 15 New Business

a) Stanat's Place [22-0589]

A motion was made by Member Klakovich, seconded by Member Molina, that the conditional zoning application for Stanat's Place located at 2516 Homestead Road be recommended for Council approval with the following conditions and special considerations:

#### **CONDITIONS:**

- Use drought-resistant turf and native plantings, where possible
- No permanent irrigation systems
- Increase the SEER rating to 17 or 18

#### SPECIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

- Use Reach out to the NC Botanical Garden for a plant list
- Reexamine the site to preserve existing canopy trees, where possible
- Plant a small number of large trees, where possible
- Add more bicycle parking spaces
- Increase HERS rating to 50 or below

The motion carried by the vote below, with Member Hennage voting against based on a concern that the proposed shape of the project will lead to habitat fragmentation.

Aye: 6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Judy

Gaitens-Arneson, Stefan Klakovich, Marirosa Molina, and

Lucy Vanderkamp

Nay: 1 - Anthony Henage

**Excused:** 2 - Ella Feathers, and Michelle Stewart

## 16 Staff Updates/Report

The Staff Liaison provided the following update regarding the Board's electrification petition:

On June 8th, the Council asked the staff to return with answers to the questions outlined within the staff report and to continue encouraging all-electric design within the development review process. Staff is planning to bring back more information to

Council in late September as part of a larger climate action update.

## 17 Adjournment

A motion was made by Member Vanderkamp, seconded by Member Molina, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote and meeting was adjourned at 8:58 PM:

Aye: 7 - Chair Mary Metcalf, Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Judy

Gaitens-Arneson, Anthony Henage, Stefan Klakovich,

Marirosa Molina, and Lucy Vanderkamp

**Excused:** 2 - Ella Feathers, and Michelle Stewart

Order of Consideration of Agenda Items:

1. Staff Presentation

2. Applicant's Presentation

- 3. Public Comment
- 4. Board Discussion
- 5. Motion
- 6. Restatement of Motion by Chair
- 7. Vote
- 8. Announcement of Vote by Chair

Public Charge: The Advisory Body pledges its respect to the public. The Body asks the public to conduct themselves in a respectful, courteous manner, both with the Body and with fellow members of the public. Should any member of the Body or any member of the public fail to observe this charge at any time, the Chair will ask the offending person to leave the meeting until that individual regains personal control. Should decorum fail to be restored, the Chair will recess the meeting until a genuine commitment to this public charge is observed.

Unless otherwise noted, please contact the Planning Department at 919-968-2728; planning@townofchapelhill.org for more information on the above referenced applications.

See the Advisory Boards page http://www.townofchapelhill.org/boards for background information on this Board.