COWN OF CHAPEL HILL	TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board Meeting Minutes	Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Chair Mary Metcalf Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker E. Thomas Henkel Julie McClintock Marirosa Molina		Noel Myers Bruce Sinclair Noah Upchurch Lucy T Vanderkamp
Tuesday, June 14, 2	022 7:00 PM	Virtual Meeting

Language Access Statement

For interpretation or translation services, call 919-969-5105.

ဘာသာပြန်ဆိုခြင်းနှင့် စကားပြန်ခြင်းအတွက်၊ (၉၁၉) ၉၆၉–၅၁ဝ၅ ကိုဖုန်းခေါ်ပါ။

如带口头或 书面翻译服 务,请拨打 919-969-5105.

Para servicios de interpretación o traducción, llame al 919-969-5105.

လ၊တၢ်ကတိၤကျိးထံ မ့တမၢ် လ၊တၢ်ကွဲးကျိးထံအတၢ်မၤစၢၤအဂ်ီ ၢ် ကိးဘ၃် (၉၁၉)-၉၆၉-၅၁၀၅

1 Opening

The meeting was called to order at 7:03 PM.

2 Roll Call

Other Attendees: Council Members Paris Miller-Foushee and Michael Parker, Staff Liaison John Richardson

 Present 6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, E. Thomas Henkel, Julie McClintock, Bruce Sinclair, Noah Upchurch, and Lucy Vanderkamp
Absent 3 - Vice-Chair Adrienne Tucker, Marirosa Molina, and Noel Myers

3 Approval of Agenda

A motion was made by Member Henkel, seconded by Member Vanderkamp, that the agenda be approved as presented. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, E. Thomas Henkel, Julie McClintock,
Bruce Sinclair, Noah Upchurch, and Lucy Vanderkamp

4 Announcements

Member McClintock noted that Mr. Stefan Klackovich would be taking over the Stormwater Advocate seat in July and thanked the board for the opportunity to

[22-0521]

serve with them.

5 Petitions

None.

6 Approval of Minutes

a) Approve Draft Action Minutes

A motion was made by Member Sinclair, seconded by Member Upchurch, that the draft action minutes for May 10, 2022 be approved as written. The motion carried by the following vote:

7 Update from Chair

a) Minutes of Appreciation for Outgoing Board Members (Bruce [22-0522] Sinclair, Julie McClintock, Noel Myers, and Noah Upchurch)

The Chair read aloud some minutes of appreciation for each of the outgoing members, recognizing their specific contributions to the board and thanking them for their service to the Town. The Chair's written remarks are below:

I wanted to take a moment to thank Noel for his insight and experience with sustainability & renewable energy, joining us often from California, and persevering through covid-times, Noel started in 2017 as a Regional Collaboration member and then re-joined in Summer 2019, so he didn't even have a full year before we became virtual. I appreciate that he is one of the few Chapel Hill natives to serve on this board.

Bruce Sinclair has served as the Regional Collaboration member for two terms, starting in 2016. We appreciate that Bruce has brought a wealth of knowledge about Carrboro's practices in sustainability and the work of their Environmental board, and always has thoughtful and considered comments, especially in relationship to electrical vehicles. Thank you, Bruce.

Julie McClintock is leaving the board, due to a move, but I want to thank her for stepping up and serving as our first Stormwater Champion. Her wealth of knowledge in this area, and of Chapel Hill and sustainability have been valuable assets, and definitely led to revisions of many of the plans we have reviewed.

Aye:6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, E. Thomas Henkel, Julie McClintock,
Bruce Sinclair, Noah Upchurch, and Lucy Vanderkamp

Noah Upchurch is heading out, and we will be joined full time by UNC student Ella Feathers starting this summer. I especially appreciate that Noah has started providing the board with an update of what the UNC student government /related organizations are doing in terms of sustainability.

I want to acknowledge that our Chapel Hill Youth Advisory Liaison from East Chapel Hill High School Lorrisa Zhou's 1 year term is ending, and wish her all the best in the future, and I wish we could have met you in person!

Finally, Lucy VanderKamp is starting a new term, and I am grateful for her willingness to return for a full term appointment, starting this summer.

8 Update from Planning Commission Champion

None.

9 Update from Booker Creek Working Group

Member McClintock shared that the Working Group will be finishing their report and recommendations this summer. Their work includes interviews with other local governments like Cary and Durham County.

10 Update from UNC Student Representative

Member Upchurch shared about the importance of a recent \$11M donation to the Ackerman Center for Sustainability within the Kenan-Flagler Business School at UNC.

11 Old Business

a) None.

12 New Business

a) Discuss and Determine Summer Board Meeting Schedule

A motion was made by Member Vanderkamp, seconded by Member McClintock, that the board take off the month of July and return in August. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, E. Thomas Henkel, Julie McClintock,
Bruce Sinclair, Noah Upchurch, and Lucy Vanderkamp

13 Staff Updates/Reports

The Staff Liaison provided the following updates:

On June 8th, the Council asked the staff to return with answers to the questions outlined within the staff report for the ESAB's electrification petition, and to continue

[22-0524]

[22-0523]

encouraging all-electric design within the development review process.

That same evening, the Council passed a resolution in support of virtual meetings. This means that the ESAB can remain virtual. Staff is also looking into the ESAB's specific condition regarding an adequate number of Zoom licenses in order to maintain a regular meeting schedule.

Following the updates, members asked the following questions:

Member Henkel asked if there's any information about the timing of the Economic Development Agreement (EDA) and whether the staff is looking into any funding for Brownfields remediation.

Council Member Parker shared that the Council is slated to consider the EDA in September. The Staff Liaison noted that the project team is exploring additional options for Brownfields remediation funding.

It was also confirmed that the Council will be voting on the three remaining open seats for the ESAB at their June 15th meeting.

14 Adjournment

A motion was made by Member Vanderkamp, seconded by Member McClintock, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:31 PM:

Aye: 6 - Chair Mary Metcalf, E. Thomas Henkel, Julie McClintock, Bruce Sinclair, Noah Upchurch, and Lucy Vanderkamp

Order of Consideration of Agenda Items:

- 1. Staff Presentation
- 2. Applicant's Presentation
- 3. Public Comment
- 4. Board Discussion
- 5. Motion
- 6. Restatement of Motion by Chair
- 7. Vote
- 8. Announcement of Vote by Chair

Public Charge: The Advisory Body pledges its respect to the public. The Body asks the public to conduct themselves in a respectful, courteous manner, both with the Body and with fellow members of the public. Should any member of the Body or any member of the public fail to observe this charge at any time, the Chair will ask the offending person to leave the meeting until that individual regains personal control. Should decorum fail to be restored, the Chair will recess the meeting until a genuine commitment to this public charge is observed.

Unless otherwise noted, please contact the Planning Department at 919-968-2728; planning@townofchapelhill.org for more information on the above referenced applications.

See the Advisory Boards page http://www.townofchapelhill.org/boards for background information on this Board.