	DWN OA	Histori	I OF CHAPEL c District Commi Meeting Minutes		Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Vice-(Wood Craig	Robert Epting Chair Kimberly Kys Irow Burns Carbrey s Locke	ser			Sean Murphy David Schwartz Susan Smith James White
Tueso	day, November 13	3, 2018	6:30 PM	RM 110	Council Chamber
Open	ing				
Rc	oll Call				
	Present9 - Chair Robert Epting, Vice-Chair Sean Murphy, Deputy Vice-Chair James Locke, Woodrow Burns, Craig Carbrey, Kimberly Kyser, David Schwartz, Susan Smith, and James White				
Сс	ommission Chair reads the public charge				
Se	ecretary reads procedures into the record				
Se	Secretary swears in members of the public				
Approval of Agenda					
Announcements					
Petitions					
Approval of Minutes					
1.	 Approval of September 24, October 9, and October 16 Action Minutes 				<u>[18-0904]</u>
	A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Burns, to approve the September 24, 2018 Meeting Minutes. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.				
	A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Carbrey, to approve the October 9, 2018 Meeting Minutes. The motion carried by a unanimous vote, with Burns abstaining.				

A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Carbrey, to approve the October 16, 2018 Meeting Minutes. The motion carried by a unanimous vote, with Burns abstaining.

Meeting Minutes

Old Business

2. 513 E Rosemary Street

Kerry Reed, owner, presented the application. A motion was made by Burns, seconded by Carbrey, to approve the Certificate of Appropriateness for a shed, based on consistency with guidelines 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, & 8 on page 53 pertaining to New Construction and guideline 8 on page 21 pertaining to Garages & Accessory Structures. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

3. 220 E Franklin Street

Brian Ferrell, counsel, provided an update on the Commission's authority to review wireless facilities in the state public right-of-way. George Sipek, engineer, presented the application and provided updates that the Commission requested at the previous meeting. The Commission expressed interest in co-locating the equipment on a nearby pole, and requested that the applicant return at the next meeting after completing additional research.

New Business

4. 500 North Street

Miho Elliott, architect, presented the application. A motion was made by Carbrey, seconded by Vice-Chair Murphy, to approve the addition, rear dormer, and dividing patio wall, based on consistency with guideline 2 on page 55 pertaining to Additions, guidelines 1 and 2 on page 37 pertaining to Roofs, guidelines 1, 2, 3, and 7 on page 41 pertaining to Windows & Doors, and guidelines 7 and 8 on page 17 pertaining to Walls & Fences. The motion was amended to include limiting the dividing patio wall to a maximum of six feet in height. The amendment was accepted, and the motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Staff Update

[<u>18-0905]</u>

<u>[18-0906]</u>

Jake Lowman provided an update on staff approvals that were completed in the previous months. Becky McDonnell provided an update on a Land Use Management Ordinance Text Amendment that would update the Advisory Board Membership Policy, and the Commission provided feedback on the proposed amendment. Beth Vasquez provided an update on a stakeholder input survey that will be distributed to all residents, owners, and workers in the Historic District, and provided copies of the draft survey to the Commission members. Brian Ferrell provided an update on the appeal of the after-the-fact Certificate of Appropriateness application for 704 E Franklin Street.

Election of Officers

A motion was made by Kyser, seconded by Burns, to nominate Bob Epting as Chair. The motion carried unanimously. A motion was then made by Burns, seconded by Smith, to close the nominations. The motion carried unanimously. A motion was made by Schwartz, seconded by White, to elect Bob Epting as Chair. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Kyser, seconded by Carbrey to nominate Sean Murphy as Vice-Chair. The motion carried unanimously. A motion was then made by Burns, seconded by White, to close the nominations. The motion carried unanimously. A motion was made by Schwartz, seconded by Kyster, to elect Sean Murphy as Vice-Chair. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Murphy, to nominate James Locke as Deputy Vice-Chair. The motion carried unanimously. A motion was then made by Kyser, seconded by Locke, to nominate Woodrow Burns as Deputy Vice-Chair. A motion was made by Kyser, seconded by Carbrey, to close the nominations. The motion carried unanimously. The Commission then voted for Deputy Vice-Chair by written ballot, and James Locke was elected as Deputy Vice-Chair with five affirmative votes. Woodrow Burns received three votes, and one member abstained from voting.

Adjournment

Next Meeting - December 11, 2018

Order of Consideration of Agenda Items:

- 1. Staff Presentation
- 2. Applicant's Presentation
- 3. Public Comment
- 4. Board Discussion
- 5. Motion
- 6. Restatement of Motion by Chair
- 7. Vote
- 8. Announcement of Vote by Chair

Public Charge: The Advisory Body pledges its respect to the public. The Body asks the public to conduct themselves in a respectful, courteous manner, both with the Body and with fellow members of the public. Should any member of the Body or any member of the public fail to observe this charge at any time, the Chair will ask the offending person to leave the meeting until that individual regains personal control. Should decorum fail to be restored, the Chair will recess the meeting until a genuine commitment to this public charge is observed.

Unless otherwise noted, please contact the Planning and Development Services Department at 919-969-5066; planning@townofchapelhill.org for more information on the above referenced applications.

See the Advisory Boards page http://www.townofchapelhill.org/boards for background information on this Board.