TOWN OF CAPAPEL HILL	TOWN OF CHAPEL HIL Planning Commission Action Minutes	Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Chair John Rees Vice-Chair Louie Rivers James Baxter Neal Bench Michael Everhart		Melissa McCullough Whit Rummel Elizabeth Webber Stephen Whitlow
Tuesday, June 2, 2020	7:00 PM	RM 110 Council Chamber

Virtual Meeting Notification

Board members will attend and participate in this meeting remotely, through internet access, and will not physically attend. The Town will not provide a physical location for viewing the meeting.

The public is invited to attend the Zoom webinar directly online or by phone. Register for this webinar:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_hSPFJ-9jSYGNFE6R80ga0A After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar in listen-only mode. Phone: 301-715-8592, Meeting ID: 823 9037 9981

Opening

Roll Call

Present9 - Chair John Rees, Vice-Chair Louie Rivers, James Baxter,
Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Melissa McCullough, Whit
Rummel, Elizabeth Webber, and Stephen Whitlow

Secretary reads procedures into the record

Approval of Agenda

Chair Rees noted that agenda item #6 had been removed from the agenda. Everhart moved and Bench seconded to approve the agenda.

Announcements

1. Updates from Advisory Board Champions

[20-0118]

This time provides an opportunity for Advisory Board Champions to relay updates from their latest meetings, as needed.

Chair Rees noted that the Transportation and Connectivity Advisory Board reviewed one of the items on the agenda last week, but would withhold comments until later. Whitlow stated that the Housing Advisory Board discussed Town-funding applications for 4 different projects, as follows: Pine Knolls, Merritt Mill, Weavers Grove, and Mitchell Ln. All projects received some funding.

Approval of Minutes

2. Planning Commission Action Minutes for May 19, 2020 [20-0367]

A motion was made by McCullough, seconded by Everhart, that the Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

New Business

3. Site Plan Application: 208 Sunset Drive

A motion was made by Bench, seconded by Everhart, that the Site Plan Application be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Chair John Rees, Vice-Chair Louie Rivers, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Melissa McCullough, Whit Rummel, Elizabeth Webber, and Stephen Whitlow

 Conditional Zoning Application: 125 E Rosemary Street Parking [20-0369] Deck

A motion was made by Bench, seconded by Everhart, that the Resolution of Consistency be recommended for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Chair John Rees, Vice-Chair Louie Rivers, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Whit Rummel, and Elizabeth Webber

Nay: 2 - Melissa McCullough, and Stephen Whitlow

A motion was made by Bench, seconded by Rummel, that the Conditional Zoning be recommended for approval, with the following conditions:

• That the approval be contingent upon successful acquisition of the two access easements to the north and west.

• That approval is tied to a favorable EDA.

[20-0368]

Aye: 9 - Chair John Rees, Vice-Chair Louie Rivers, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Melissa McCullough, Whit Rummel, Elizabeth Webber, and Stephen Whitlow

• That Council consider the impacts on the Fire Station by traffic turning left from MLK Jr. Blvd onto North St.

• That more conduit and electric vehicle charging stations be provided.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	6 - Chair John Rees, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael
	Everhart, Whit Rummel, and Elizabeth Webber

Nay: 3 - Vice-Chair Louie Rivers, Melissa McCullough, and Stephen Whitlow

5. Zoning Atlas Amendment Application: 137 E Franklin St Innovation Hub

[20-0370]

A motion was made by McCullough, seconded by Rummel, that the Resolution of Consistency be recommended for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 8 Chair John Rees, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Melissa McCullough, Whit Rummel, Elizabeth Webber, and Stephen Whitlow
- **Excused:** 1 Vice-Chair Louie Rivers

A motion was made by McCullough, seconded by Everhart, that the Rezoning be recommended for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Chair John Rees, James Baxter, Neal Bench, Michael Everhart, Melissa McCullough, Whit Rummel, Elizabeth Webber, and Stephen Whitlow

Excused: 1 - Vice-Chair Louie Rivers

6. Land Use Management Ordinance Text Amendment Regarding [20-0371] an R-2 Conditional Zoning District

This item was removed from the agenda.

7. Concept Plan Reviews and Planning Commission Feedback [20-0372]

The Planning Commission briefly discussed the potential of reviewing Concept Plans for future developments, focusing on how to provide input earlier in the process. Chair Rees tabled the discussion until the June 16, 2020 Planning Commission meeting.

Adjournment

Next Meeting - June 16, 2020

McCullough made a motion to adjourn; meeting adjourned.

Order of Consideration of Agenda Items:

- 1. Staff Presentation
- 2. Applicant's Presentation
- 3. Public Comment
- 4. Board Discussion
- 5. Motion
- 6. Restatement of Motion by Chair
- 7. Vote
- 8. Announcement of Vote by Chair

Public Charge: The Advisory Body pledges its respect to the public. The Body asks the public to conduct themselves in a respectful, courteous manner, both with the Body and with fellow members of the public. Should any member of the Body or any member of the public fail to observe this charge at any time, the Chair will ask the offending person to leave the meeting until that individual regains personal control. Should decorum fail to be restored, the Chair will recess the meeting until a genuine commitment to this public charge is observed.

Unless otherwise noted, please contact the Planning Department at 919-968-2728; planning@townofchapelhill.org for more information on the above referenced applications.

See the Advisory Boards page http://www.townofchapelhill.org/boards for background information on this Board.