TOWN OF	TOWN OF CHAPEL HILL Environmental Stewardship Advisory Board Meeting Minutes	Town Hall 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Chair E. Thomas Henkel		Mary Metcalf
Vice-Chair Anthony Henage		Marirosa Molina
Ella Feathers		Michelle Stewart
Kunal R Khaware		Lucy T Vanderkamp
Stefan Klakovich		Boone Williams

7:00 PM

Language Access Statement

Tuesday, September 12, 2023

For interpretation or translation services, call 919-969-5105.

ဘာသာပြန်ဆိုခြင်းနှင့် စကားပြန်ခြင်းအတွက်၊ (၉၁၉) ၉၆၉–၅၁ဝ၅ ကိုဖုန်းခေါ်ပါ။



Virtual Meeting

Para servicios de interpretación o traducción, llame al 919-969-5105.

လ၊တၢ်ကတိၤကျိးထံ မ့တမၢ် လ၊တၢ်ကွဲးကျိးထံအတၢ်မၤစၢၤအဂ်ီ ၢ် ကိးဘ၃် (၉၁၉)-၉၆၉-၅၁၀၅

1 Virtual Meeting Orientation

The Staff Liaison provided a brief virtual meeting orientation.

2 Opening

Chair called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

3 Roll Call

Other Attendees: Council Member Parker (Liaison), John Richardson (Staff Liaison)

Note: Maripat Metcalf is no longer a member of the board and has been marked absent only for the purposes of proper voting records for this meeting.

Present	6 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Ella Feathers, Stefan Klakovich,
	Michelle Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and Boone Williams
Excused	2 - Vice-Chair Anthony Henage, and Kunal Khaware
Absent	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina

4 Approval of Agenda

A motion was made by Member Klakovich, seconded by Member Williams, that the Board approve the agenda as proposed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	6 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Ella Feathers, Stefan Klakovich, Michelle Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and Boone Williams
Excused:	2 - Vice-Chair Anthony Henage, and Kunal Khaware
Absent:	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina

5 Announcements

The Staff Liaison shared that Maripat Metcalf has resigned from her seat because she is in the process of closing her business by choice. The business seat will now be open for new applications.

Member Khaware arrived.

Present	7 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Ella Feathers, Kunal Khaware,
	Stefan Klakovich, Michelle Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and
	Boone Williams
Excused	1 - Vice-Chair Anthony Henage
Absent	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina

6 Petitions

None.

7 Approval of Minutes

Draft Action Minutes

[23-0643]

A motion was made by Member Williams, seconded by Member Khaware, that the draft August 16, 2023 action minutes be approved as written. Member Feathers abstained from the vote because she was unable to attend the last meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:	6 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Kunal Khaware, Stefan Klakovich, Michelle Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and Boone Williams
Excused:	1 - Vice-Chair Anthony Henage
Absent:	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina
Abstain:	1 - Ella Feathers

8 Updates from Chair

None.

9 Updates from UNC Student Representative

Member Feathers shared that the Sustainability Council and Coalition meetings will begin soon and that future updates are forthcoming. Member Feathers also noted

that the University has a full-time employee within the Institute for the Environment who is dedicated to reviewing the Inflation Reduction Act for opportunities that will benefit the University's sustainability efforts. Member Feathers will share additional updates when available.

10 Updates from North South Bus Rapid Transit Policy Committee Representative

None at this time.

11 Old Business

a) Continue Sharing Feedback on the Staff's Draft Climate Action Template for Conditional Zoning Applications

Member Khaware left the meeting.

The Board continued discussing the staff's approach to reviewing and evaluating Conditional Zoning applications in the context of the new Council policy. Topics discussed included electrification (and the benefits thereof), incentives (e.g., IRA, fast tracking, asking developers what works), and providing educational links. The Chair asked that the staff liaison share the document out to the full group for one additional review and final discussion at the October meeting.

Present	6 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Ella Feathers, Stefan	
	Klakovich, Michelle Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and	
	Boone Williams	
Excused	2 - Vice-Chair Anthony Henage, and Kunal Khaware	
Absent	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina	

12 New Business

None.

13 Staff Updates

Vice-Chair Anthony Henage and Member Khaware arrived.

In response to the Chair's request for updates regarding the Aura and Police station projects, the Staff Liaison provided the following:

Aura

- The lane narrowing along Estes is for the new sidepath

- Staff have confirmed that all contractors are following their traffic management plans

- MLK closures are connected with the Aura development project and the Estes sidepath contractor has taken advantage of this to expedite some of that work

- The Town has a Vision Zero goal (eliminating traffic fatalities and severe injuries from all road users) and the land closures and other measures are intended to make these areas safer while construction is underway

- Stormwater staff confirmed that the developer is also following their approved Stormwater Management Plan, which includes Orange County's erosion control permit that is continuously inspected by County staff throughout construction

Police Station

Staff are going to Council on Wednesday (9/13) to recommend that the Manager be authorized to lease space for the Police Department at another location
The Town is still in conversation with the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality about a Brownfields Agreement for the future of the property (currently in an interim remediation condition) and we await further direction

Present	8 - Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Vice-Chair Anthony Henage, Ella
	Feathers, Kunal Khaware, Stefan Klakovich, Michelle
	Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and Boone Williams
Absent	2 - Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina

14 Adjournment

A motion was made by Vice-Chair Henage, seconded by Member Williams, that the Board adjourn the meeting, which ended at 8:16 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye:8 Chair E. Thomas Henkel, Vice-Chair Anthony Henage, Ella
Feathers, Kunal Khaware, Stefan Klakovich, Michelle
Stewart, Lucy Vanderkamp, and Boone Williams
- Absent: 2 Mary Metcalf, and Marirosa Molina

Order of Consideration of Agenda Items:

- 1. Staff Presentation
- 2. Applicant's Presentation
- 3. Public Comment
- 4. Board Discussion
- 5. Motion
- 6. Restatement of Motion by Chair
- 7. Vote
- 8. Announcement of Vote by Chair

Public Charge: The Advisory Body pledges its respect to the public. The

Body asks the public to conduct themselves in a respectful, courteous manner, both with the Body and with fellow members of the public. Should any member of the Body or any member of the public fail to observe this charge at any time, the Chair will ask the offending person to leave the meeting until that individual regains personal control. Should decorum fail to be restored, the Chair will recess the meeting until a genuine commitment to this public charge is observed.

Unless otherwise noted, please contact the Planning Department at 919-968-2728; planning@townofchapelhill.org for more information on the above referenced applications.

See the Advisory Boards page http://www.townofchapelhill.org/boards for background information on this Board.