Town of Chapel Hill header
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
First name: Jessica photo
Last name: Anderson
Phone: (919) 391-0118
Web site:
Address: 101 Eastridge Place
City, state zip: Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Term of Service 2015-2019

Jessica Anderson was elected to the Chapel Hill Town Council in 2015. Anderson is a Senior Policy Research Analyst at the SERVE Center at UNC Greensboro where she leads various statewide evaluations related to K-12 Education. She holds a Master’s in Public Policy (concentration in social policy) from Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy and has spent her professional career immersed in education policy at the national and state levels.

Anderson has volunteered for the Chapel Hill Carrboro City Schools Blue Ribbon Mentor-Advocate Program and the Chapel Hill/Carrboro Mothers Club. Her prior civic engagement experience also includes work in a residential facility for homeless teenage mothers and volunteer work in skilled nursing facilities.

Anderson lives in the Ironwoods neighborhood in Chapel Hill with her husband, Karthik and daughter, Elena, as well as their rescue dog, Dexter. In her spare time, she enjoys spending time with her family, reading, exercising, and attending local music and cultural events.


  • Community Design Commission
  • Council Committee on Boards and Commissions
  • Council Committee on Economic Sustainability
  • Council Committee on Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
  • Facilities Naming Committee
  • Library Board of Trustees
  • Mayor’s Committee on Council Communication
  • Orange Water and Sewer Authority (Interview Committee)
  • Parks, Greenways, and Recreation Commission


The primary mission of the Mayor and Council, as the governing body of the Town is to adopt and provide for the execution of ordinances, rules and regulations as may be necessary or appropriate to protect health, life or property, or to promote the comfort, convenience, security, good order, better government, or the general welfare of the Town and its citizens.

The Mayor and eight Council Members constitute the governing body of the Town. In accordance with the Town’s Charter, the voters elect a Mayor every two years. Council Members are elected to four-year, staggered terms on an at-large basis. Town Council duties include:

  • Amendment of previously adopted policies through changes in the Town Code of Ordinances and the Development Ordinance, and by revision of policies and documents.
  • Appointment of advisory boards, commissions, task forces and committees.
  • Appointment of the Town Manager and Town Attorney.
  • Establishment of agreements with other governments.